

Senate Bill 392 Voter-Verified Records Bill Summary

- ◆ In last year's elections, numerous failures of electronic voting machines resulted in lost votes. The most dramatic example occurred in Sarasota County, Florida, where 18,000 ballots, or almost 13% of voters, registered no vote in a hotly contested Congressional race on touchscreen voting machines. The margin of victory in that race was less than 400 votes. The outcome of that race is still in doubt as it works its way through the court system and the new Congress.
- Maryland's disastrous September primary drew national attention to our precarious dependence on a complex voting system where a small error can result in voters being turned away from the polls.
- Numerous computer experts have conducted a multitude of highly respected studies, all
 of which have concluded that a voter-verified paper audit trail is the only reliable
 protection against these types of system failures.
- ♦ SB 392 will help ensure confidence in MD's voting system by requiring:
 - A voter-verified paper record which is:
 - o available to each voter to inspect and verify before their vote is cast;
 - o used as the official ballot of record in audits and recounts:
 - o durable enough to withstand repeated handling during audits or recounts; and
 - impossible to associate a voter with the record of their vote.
 - Voting system accessibility for those with disabilities. If passed, SB 392 would ensure the strongest voting accessibility protections in the country.
 - Mandatory random audits of 5% of all the votes cast in randomly selected polling places in each County and Baltimore City.
 - Procedures that ensure public transparency in the election process such as election night web posting of initial precinct results and public notification of problems such as equipment breakdowns, discrepancies in audits, etc.
 - Passage as an emergency measure that will take effect from the date it is enacted, so that the State Board of Elections will have enough time to implement the system in time for the 2008 Presidential election.